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INSTRUCTIONS: FAMILY LAW JUDGMENT AFTER TRIAL 
 
A minute order from the court trial may contain the decisions in your case, but it is not the order 
because it is not signed by the judge. You must prepare a Judgment for the judge to sign. 
 

1 Prepare the 
Judgment  

Get a copy of the Court’s minute order of the trial. Fill out the 
proposed Judgment according to the minute order. You can buy 
forms in the clerk’s office or download them for free at 
http://www.courts.ca.gov/forms.htm. Start with FL-180, and 
answer the date and courtroom where the case was heard, the 
name of the judge and the people who attended, and what kinds 
of decisions the judge made. Add additional pages as needed to 
accurately reflect the decision.  Form FL-190 is also needed. 

2 Serve a copy 

After you finish the proposed judgment, you must send a copy 
to the other party for approval. Make a copy. Send it with the 
“Letter to the Other Party” attached to this packet that explains 
time limits and options.  

3 Wait 

The other party has 10 court business days after service to 
review the proposed orders. If you receive the proposed 
judgment after trial, obtain a copy of the minute order and 
compare for accuracy. If there are mistakes, you must notify the 
other party within 10 court business days. You may wish to 
consult with an attorney to see what else you can do. If the 
proposed judgment is correctly prepared, you may take no 
action and let your 10 days pass. 

4 File 

After waiting the 10 days, you may now take the proposed 
judgment with the “Letter to the Court,” to the filing clerk. Be 
sure to file your original with at least two copies. Include two 
self addressed and stamped envelopes for the clerk to mail back 
each party’s copies signed by the judge. 

5 Court Serves signed 
Copies 

After the judge signs the orders, the clerk will use your stamped 
envelopes to mail a copy to you and the other party.  

6 For Child Support 
Orders 

If there are any child support orders, both parties must complete 
a Child Support Case Registry (FL-191). You may also fill 
out an Income Withholding for Support (FL-195) for 
payments to be processed through the State Disbursement Unit. 
To find out more about wage assignments, call the State 
Disbursement Unit at 866-325-1010, or the California 
Department of Child Support Services at 866-901-3212. 

 
If you have any questions or concerns and are not represented by an attorney in this case, you may 
contact the Access Center at accesscenter@imperial.courts.ca.gov.  
 
This instructional packet is designed as a tool to assist you. It may not include all information that is 
legally required, is not legal advice, and should not be used as a substitute for legal advice from an 
attorney licensed by the State Bar of California.  To find out how to hire an attorney and/or obtain a 
consultation with a family law attorney see http://www.courts.ca.gov/1084.htm  
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