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1. My name is  _____________________________ and I am the Adult Child in this matter.  I apply for a court order 

to relieve me from the duty to provide parental support and for a hearing to issue.  My request is based on 
Sections 4410-4414 of the family code that provides an Adult Child may file a petition requesting that the court 
make an order freeing the Adult Child from the obligation otherwise imposed by law to support the Parent. 
(Family Code 4410)   

 
2. I file this Petition in this county because the Parent of the Adult Child resides here; or  the Parent does not 

reside in this state, and this county is where the adult child resides. 
 

3. I ask the clerk of the court to set the matter for hearing and to issue a citation, stating the time and place of the 
  hearing, directed to the parent and to the parent's conservator, if any, or, if the parent is deceased, the personal    
  representative of the parent's estate. (Family Code 4412) 
 
4. The Parent is a resident of the county of __________________ in the state of ____________________. I shall 

serve a copy of this Petition and the citation on each person to whom it is directed, in the same manner as 
provided by law for the service of summons at least 5 days before the hearing.  (Family Code 4412) 

 Check if applicable  

  The Parent is a resident of California. The court does not have jurisdiction to make an order under this  
 chapter until 30 days after the county counsel, or the district attorney in a county not having a county counsel,  
 of the county in which the parent resides has been served with notice of the pendency of the proceeding.  I ask  

 for a hearing to be set at least 40 days from today’s date to serve county counsel 30 days before the hearing.  
 (Family Code 4413) 

 
5. I ask the court to grant my request because I meet all of the requirements established in Family Code 4411: 
 (a)  I was abandoned by the parent when I was a minor, 
 (b) The abandonment continued for a period of two or more years before I turned 18 years old, and 
 (c)  During the period of abandonment the parent was physically and mentally able to provide me support, as  
 described in the attached declaration. 
 
6. I am also filing local Form GN-01, Request for Hearing Requesting Relief from the Duty of Parental Support. 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 
 
 
 
 
 Date:_____________          Signature:___________________________________  
          Adult child 
 


