Temporary Judge Program
Conditions for Appointment by the Court
Temporary Judges serve at the discretion of the Presiding Judge. The Presiding Judge may appoint an attorney to serve as a Temporary Judge only if the attorney:
- is a member in good standing of the State Bar and has no disciplinary action pending;
- has not pled guilty or no contest to a felony, or has not be convicted of a felony that has not been reversed;
- has satisfied the required education and training requirements;
- has satisfied all other general conditions that the court may establish for appointment of an attorney as a temporary judge in that court
Applicants will also be required to successfully complete a background check and have a live scan fingerprint check (through the California Department of Justice and FBI databases) at no cost to the applicant.
Education and Training Requirements
As mandated by rules 2.812 and 2.813 of the California Rules of Court, the Presiding Judge may appoint an attorney to serve as a temporary judge only if the following minimum training requirements are satisfied, within the previous 3 years:
|Types Of Training Courses||Information||Course Length|
|Bench Conduct and Demeanor||Must be taken in-person. May be taken in any California Superior Court. Offered by most courts once or twice a year.||3.0 hours|
|Ethics||May be taken online http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/protem/courses/je/||3.0 hours|
|Bench Assignment which can be Small Claims, Traffic, etc. [CA Rules of Court, Rule 2.812 (c)]||May be taken in person (when available) or online, through the California Center for Judicial Education and Research (CJER): http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/protem/||3.0 hours|
MCLE credit will be provided for all required training.
Eligibility to serve as a Temporary Judge requires submission of an Application Packet which shall include the following:
- Application (renewal or initial)
- Certificate of Completion for Bench Conduct and Demeanor training
- Certificate of Completion for online Ethics training
- Certificate(s) of Completion for substantive area training
Submit your completed application packet to the Superior Court of California, County of Imperial, Attention: Human Resources, 1625 W. Main Street, El Centro, CA 92243. The application packet can also be faxed to (760) 336-3594.
Neither appointment nor service as a temporary judge creates any employment relationship with the Court. Click here for a checklist of documents needed to become a Temporary Judge.
The eligibility period for serving as a Temporary Judge pursuant to California Rule of Court 2.812, is valid for a three-year period. Attorneys renewing their status as a Temporary Judge are required to provide verification of the mandatory Bench Conduct and Demeanor and Ethics training and one substantive matter.
Financial Disclosure Required Under the California Fair Political Practices Act
The California Code of Regulations require Temporary Judges who sit thirty days or more in a calendar year to file with the clerk of the court the statement of economic interests (Form 700) required of regular judicial officers. This form can be found online at http://www.fppc.ca.gov/. Temporary Judges are responsible for keeping track of the number of days that they serve.
Temporary Judge Resources
California Rules of Court Governing Temporary Judges
- http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=two Rules 2.810 - 2.819 and Rules 2.830 - 2.835
- http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=ten Rules 10.740 - 10.746